Your Cart
Your Cart

Finally, Disney+ Reveals New MCU Timeline Order with Spider-Man: Homecoming

The Ancient One once claimed that we don’t get to select our time, and that couldn’t be more accurate when it comes to MCU narrative. Because Marvel Studios films and now Disney+ series aren’t always published in chronological sequence, viewers are often forced to hypothesize about when important events occur in the narrative. The fact that Sony controls the cinematic rights to Spider-Man has only confounded the MCU timeline speculation.

In recent years, Disney+ has been the official source of the chronological Marvel chronology; and although this has helped to dispel some of the uncertainty, not all of the MCU is on Disney+ owing to contractual constraints and streaming partnerships.

Aside from The Incredible Hulk from 2008, Tom Holland’s Spider-Man: Homecoming, Far From Home, and now No Way Home are all missing from the House of Mouse’s streaming service.

That is no longer the case, according to a new agreement, which means the MCU timeframe has shifted once again.

Where Does Spider-Man: Homecoming Fit Into the Marvel Cinematic Universe Timeline?


With the addition of Spider-Man: Homecoming on Disney+ UK, the streamer’s Marvel Cinematic Universe in Timeline Order now places the Tom Holland solo picture after 2018’s Black Panther and before 2016’s Doctor Strange.

As a result, Homecoming is presently the sixteenth project in the Marvel Cinematic Universe.

The following is the corrected chronology order of Marvel Studios films and Disney+ series:

The First Avenger, Captain America

  • The sequel to Iron Man
  • Thor
  • The Fantastic Four
  • The Dark World of Thor
  • The Third Iron Man
  • The First Avenger, Captain America
  • Marvel’s Guardians of the Galaxy
  • Vol. 2: The Guardians of the Galaxy 2
  • Ultron: Age of Ultron
  • Ant-Man
  • Civil War, Captain America
  • The Black Widow
  • The Black Panther
  • The Amazing Spider-Man: Homecoming
  • Strange Doctor
  • Ragnarok, Thor
  • The Wasp and Ant-Man
  • Marvel’s Avengers: Infinity War
  • Endgame for the Avengers
  • Loki
  • What If…?
  • WandaVision
  • The Winter Soldier and the Falcon
  • The Legend of the Ten Rings and Shang-Chi
  • Eternals
  • Hawkeye
  • The Moon Knight
  • Madame Marvel
  • The Incredible Hulk, Spider-Man: Far From Home, Spider: No Way Home, and Doctor Strange in the Multiverse of Madness are the only films or series not included on this list. The latter picture, on the other hand, has been confirmed to be added to Disney+ on June 22.

Spider-Man, Spider-Man 2, The Amazing Spider-Man, and The Amazing Spider-Man 2 have also been added to Disney+ UK and will be available on Disney+ in the United States by the end of 2022.

The MCU Timeline’s Unsolved Mysteries
While Spider-Man: Far From Home was the last film in Phase 3 of the MCU, it has long been unknown when and where Homecoming took place. While this new information isn’t surprising, it does clarify that T’Challa’s solo feature takes place before Peter Parker’s, after their respective debuts in Captain America: Civil War.

Nonetheless, some mystery persists.

Due to the fact that Phase 4 of the MCU has hopped across (and even beyond) the Marvel Cinematic Universe chronology, there may be some surprises in store when Far From Home gets added to the streamer. And, although fans are aware that No Way Home takes place before Doctor Strange in the Multiverse of Madness, what happened before the Multiversal Spidey film is still unknown.

However, answers are on their way. Spider-Man flicks are coming to Disney+ in the United States as part of the new Sony arrangement, and ideally, all Marvel fans will have a complete image of the MCU’s own “Sacred Timeline” in the near future.

Until then, other Marvel Studios projects, particularly future episodes of Ms. Marvel, may give some clues.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *